Smithville Independent School District Committed to Excellence

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Homecoming is this Friday, September 9th ■ Get Connected with Smithville ISD's Phone App at

Board Members

Smithville Independent School District Board of Trustees
Smithville ISD’s Board of Trustees is the policy-making body for the school district and is elected by popular vote and meant to represent the community in matters of public education. The board is governed by both state and federal law with rules and regulations established by the Texas State Board of Education, the Texas Education Agency and the will of the community.
The seven-member board, serving without pay, are elected for three-year terms. A majority of the board’s vote constitutes a quorum for business transactions and although the board is comprised of individuals, no member of the board acts unless authorized by the board. Board elections for rotating members are held on the second Saturday in May each year.
Smithville ISD School Board Trustees
SISD School Board 2022-2023
Grant Gutierrez  

Grant Gutierrez, President (Place 2)

ggutier[email protected]


Grant Gutierrez was first elected to the Smithville ISD Board of Trustees on May 10,  2014.  Mr. Gutierrez served as the Secretary of the Board from 2016-2018, President from 2018-2020, and re-elected to serve as president by his fellow trustees on May 17, 2021. He is a long-time resident of Bastrop County graduating from Bastrop High School in 1999.  Mr. Gutierrez’s education includes a Bachelor’s in Business Administration and Master’s in Accounting from Texas A&M University.  His wife, Krystel, is a certified Texas Public School Teacher and Librarian and their daughters, Arabella, Emeline, and Penelope attend Smithville ISD schools.


Mr. Gutierrez is the Chief Financial Officer of Bluebonnet Electric Cooperative.  He is an active member of St. Paul’s Catholic Church and the Knights of Columbus.


The Gutierrez family is passionate about the benefits of public education and the role it serves in our rural communities.  His family taught him about the responsibility of giving back to your community through service for the greater good of all.  Mr. Gutierrez is proud to serve Smithville ISD and looks forward to many great things ahead.



Chris HinnantChris Hinnant, Vice-President (Place 1)

[email protected]









Candice Parsons 

Candice Parsons, Secretary (Place 5)

[email protected]


Candice Parsons was elected to the Smithville ISD Board of Trustees on May 7, 2016. Mrs. Parsons was elected as Vice-President in 2020 and re-elected as vice-preseident by her fellow trustees at the May 17, 2021,  Regular Board Meeting.


Mrs. Parsons is a 1994 graduate of Smithville High School and earned her Bachelor of Science degree from Texas A&M University.  As a graduate of SISD and a former teacher in the school system, Mrs. Parsons wants the community, students, and SISD employees to be proud to be a part of SISD.


Mrs. Parsons works for Agilent Technologies, Inc. in the Regulatory Affairs Department - Genomics Division.  She is an active member of First Baptist Church in Smithville and serves as the Women’s Ministry Leader.


Mrs. Parsons and her husband Todd have 3 children, Carlee, Tanner, and Chandler,  all of whom attend Smithville ISD schools. As a former educator in Smithville ISD, Mrs. Parsons feels it is important for teachers to have someone on the board who can be a voice for them and their needs.  Having worked as an educator she has a first-hand view of where teachers are and a different level of understanding when it comes to their requests, concerns, etc. As a parent of 3 children that attend SISD on multiple campuses, she can relate well to parents and their children and be a voice for them also. 


Mrs. Parsons feels there are many other purposes that are also important in serving as a SISD Trustee such as financial stability of SISD, a positive relationship with the city and community, and good morale among all employees of SISD. 


Nancy Towry 

Nancy Towry (Place 3)

[email protected]


Nancy Towry was elected to the Smithville ISD Board of Trustees on May 5, 2018.  Mrs. Towry served as Secretary of the Board from 2020-2021 and re-elected as secretary by her fellow trustees at the May 17, 2021, Regular Board Meeting.


Mrs. Towry earned her Bachelor of Science in Computer Science from Purdue University.  She and her husband Chris have two children, Sarah and Colton, both of whom attend Smithville ISD schools.


Mrs. Towry has been involved with the community serving on various boosters clubs and is currently serving as the President of the Smithville Education Foundation. 


She previously worked as an inside sales engineer before deciding to be a stay at home mom raising their 2 children and dedicating her time to volunteering she wants what is best for all students in the school district and is willing to give of her time to make that possible.



Alan Hemphill 

Alan Hemphill (Place 4)

[email protected]


Alan Hemphill was elected to the Smithville ISD Board of Trustees May 9, 2009. Mr. Hemphill was previously elected to serve as vice president in 2011, 2012, 2015, 2016, and again in 2018 and president in 2020.


Mr. Hemphill was born and raised in Smithville graduating from Smithville High School in 1980.  Mr. Hemphill’s education includes a Bachelor’s degree from Southwest Texas State University (currently Texas State University).  His wife, Kim, is a certified Texas Public School Teacher and Librarian.  Their daughters Kasey and Hayli are graduates of Smithville ISD schools.  Alan and Kim’s daughter Brooklyn currently attends Smithville ISD schools.


Mr. Hemphill is the Director of Purchasing for Vintage Homes.  He is an active member of First Baptist Church of Smithville and has supported many organizations within the Smithville ISD system.  Alan has also volunteered as a counselor for a foster care camp and has judged many UIL and DECA events. 


He has a desire to do what he can for the betterment of the school and community that he grew up in and is proud to call his alma mater.


Josh Magden 

Josh Magden (Place 6)

[email protected]


Josh Magden was elected to the Smithville ISD Board of Trustees at the May 7, 2022 election. He and his family moved to Smithville in 2017 specifically because of their view of the school district’s strength and the opportunity to raise their kids in the country. All three of their children (entering 9th , 6th and 1st grades) attend Smithville schools.

Mr. Magden attended Grinnell College (Grinnell, Iowa) where he was a double major in Economics & Spanish, and where, most providentially, he met his wife Elizabeth. He later earned a masters degree at Thunderbird School of Global Management (Glendale, Arizona) with a focus on International Development & Policy. Mr. Magden and his wife are strong advocates for education, from primary schools to vocational and terminal degrees.

Today Mr. Magden manages several small insurance companies, but for nearly a decade while his wife was in veterinary school and residency, he was a public finance banker in Colorado working with rural school districts and helping school boards develop community-vetted plans around significant capital projects and financials objectives.

Mr. Magden believes that public schools are the public commons, and that as a community we are responsible to ensure we cultivate this space to challenge and grow our kids into resilient, capable and civic-minded citizens.



Michael Hancock 

Michael Hancock (Place 7)

[email protected]







Thursday, August 16th, the Smithville ISD School Board Trustees took a tour of the construction site hosted by PBK.